WAITEMATA LODGE 689 TWENTYFIVE YEARS FROM 1980

In 1980 Auckland celebrated its centenary and the City Population was 144,963. Today it is around 401,500. In 1861 it was 7,989.

Following on from the 125th anniversary address on 4th October 1980 given by the late W/Bro R W Tisdale PDGW (Secretary of the Lodge up to May 1987), the position of Secretary was taken over by W/Bro R S Devlin PDGW until W/Bro C N Hardy PDGW-DG Almoner JP occupied the position of Secretary, which he still holds.

Looking at the minute book we see the following:

On the 11th September 1980 a dispensation was granted by the DGM Rt Wbro I E Whale for an emergency meeting to be held on Saturday 4th October to celebrate the founding of the Lodge. A festival dinner was held at the Logan Campbell rooms Logan Park Auckland. The distinguished Guests included: RtW Bro I E Whale DGM Bro P B Fox RWDGM NZ North GL Scotland Rt W Bro L N Taylor Prov GM Of NZ Grand Lodge of Ireland Rt W Bro J C Jessup Prov GM Auck District G L of New Zealand

Rt W Bro Sir James Stubbs KCVO Past SGW

The WM of the Lodge at that time was W/Bro G Bell PDGW.

A silver bracelet was presented to Lady Stubbs by W/Bro B O Belcher PDGW. The bracelet was donated by W/Bro R W Tisdale PDGW (it was made by his son).

Photo Albums, Pedestals and Pillars

Four Photo albums were presented to the Lodge in 1981 by W/Bros Harris, Coyte, Tisdale & Bell.

St Andrew 418 Scottish Constitution agreed to lend the Lodge their Pedestal (from Princes St), on the understanding that it be returned to them if requested. A letter to this effect was placed in the minute book. The three Pedestals were made by W/Bro Ted Miller and had not been used together since Princes Street, some seventeen years prior. Prince of Wales Lodge agreed to exchange one Pillar for the third Pedestal and the three pedestals are now on permanent loan to Ashlar Properties (Sept 91).

In 1985 a certificate for 50 years of continuous Masonic Membership was introduced by District Grand Lodge.

The following Brethren have been presented with this certificate:

W/Bro SJP Scott Bro BK Sullivan W/Bro FC Burt W/Bro DC Hardy W/Bro RFV Rutter W/Bro BK McClure W/Bro BO Belcher W/Bro KM Coyte W/Bro M Rushton Bro RB Bartleet Bro A Brown Bro JF Sanders

Changes and Fundraising

In 1986 The Lodge adopted the changes in Penalties and the words ' no alterations without the consent of Grand Lodge' were added to the clause in the questions to the Candidate.

In 1987 the Masonic Fair raised \$30,000.

In 1989 the use of Pyjamas was discontinued in the Lodge by a vote of 19-3.

Whangarei Anglican Church

In 1991 it was agreed to donate \$50 to the Whangarei Anglican Church to enable them to plant a tree by the grave of Sir Samuel Osborne-Gibbes to avoid vehicles driving over it.

Also in 1991 a search was made for the die of the Centenary jewel.

In 1992 notice was received of the 275th Grand Lodge Anniversary,

Move to Argyle Street Herne Bay

A discussion was held in February 1990 and a notice of motion was given in March 1990. In April 1990 the motion to move was carried by a 2/3rds majority. It was proposed by W/Bro Devlin and seconded by W/Bro Tisdale that by-law rules 1-2 & 4 be amended. This was carried on 16th July1990. A dispensation was granted re the move and was read at the September, October and November meetings. In February 1991 the by-law amendments were approved and the dispensation was no longer required.

The first meeting at Herne Bay took place on 20 August 1990

Ashlar Properties was formed to run the Masonic Centre at Herne Bay. Our first two Directors were W/Bro RW Tisdale PDSGW and W/Bro WA Finley (5 October 1990).

Prior to the Lodge leaving The Lodge of Harmony premises in Otahuhu, Waitemata donated 3 bricks (@ \$100 ea) to assist in the improvement of the car park.

There was a complaint about noise at Otahuhu and it was resolved that meetings should finish at no later than 10.30 pm and all out by midnight. As a sideline the wife of one of our members rang the then Master to enquire where her husband was (it was 4am!!!).

In June 1992 Ashlar Properties confirmed that the three pedestals were on loan from Waitemata.

Fifteen chairs were donated by the Lodge to Ashlar properties for use in the refrectory – a letter of thanks was received.

It was agreed by the Lodge In March 1993 (after a Notice of Motion) that \$5000 be donated to the EMC, including the \$1000 already promised. This entitled Waitemata to be a founding Patron.

A Lodge Membership committee was formed in 1993.

V W/Bro W Fortune retired as an Honorary Member of the Lodge in May 1995.

Income Tax

In April 1999 An income tax exemption was granted subject to the adoption of the 'Sunset clause'.

W/Bro Jenkin's Jewels

The Jewels (which had been on loan from DGL) were returned at the March 2000 meeting. W/Bro A Bevins received them (details in March 2000 minutes).

Copy of Lodge Banner

In April 2000 a copy of the Lodge Banner was made by Mrs Layzell, Bro M Layzell, W/Bro Tisdale and Bro A Ashford. The copy is indistinguishable from the original at a short distance. The Banner was to be used for communications to protect the original.

In Februrary 2001 notice was received of the appointment of W/Bro DK Williamson Dep GDC as Assistant Grand Master and W/Bro P B Gudsell PAGDC Assistant District Grand Master, to the office of District Grand Master.

RtW/Bro I E Whale PDGM and RtW/Bro RM Collins were made Honorary Members in March 2002.

W/Bro M MacDonald gave lectures in 2003 & 2004 on the Antarctic whilst he was chief Engineer.

W/Bro I Pallas was made an Honorary Member of the Lodge in 2003 as organist. He is a member of Lodge Ponsonby 54 NZC.

MASTERS DURING THE LAST 25 YEARS

1980	W/Bro G Bell	1981	W/Bro WJP Hardiman	1982	W/Bro A Gofton
1983	W/Bro MS MacDonald	1984	W/Bro DCM Rugg	1985	W/Bro BA Coyte
1986	W/Bro EL Jensen	1987	W/Bro WA Finley	1988	W/Bro WD Harley
1989	W/Bro APH Rutter	1990	W/Bro SNG Douglas	1991	W/Bro GM Ridler
1992	W/Bro CN Hardy	1993	W/Bro NE Brook	1984	W/Bro NE Brook
1995	W/Bro GR Hardy	1996	W/Bro APH Rutter	1997	W/Bro APH Rutter
1998	W/Bro DP Laery	1999	W/Bro R Gosling	2000	W/Bro A Howard
2001	W/Bro FG Ireland	2002	W/Bro A Gofton	2003	W/Bro D Boseley
2004	W/Bro D Boseley	2005	W/Bro M Layzell		

It will be noticed that W/Bro APH Rutter served 3 terms, W/Bro A Gofton served 2 terms, W/Bro NE Brook served 2 terms, W/Bro D Boseley served 2 terms and W/Bro FG Ireland served 2 terms, the first in 1971. They all have bars on their PMs Medals.